By 2030 Umzumbe will be economically viable, enjoying tourism, heritage and agri-cultural benefits.


The municipality is dedicated to promote people-centred development, acceleration of service delivery and sustain-able local economic develop-ment.  

Quick Links:

o Tenders

o Documents

o Vacancies

o Supplier Database Form

o News

Ambulance : 10177

Umdoni Fire & Emergencies :

039 974 1061

Police : 10111

Hibberdene :

039 835 0012

Msinsini : 039 699 1600

Important Numbers:

IDP SDBIP Budget Database Form

Umzumbe Local Municipality

Disaster : +27 71 604 0400

                   +27 39 972 0005

Government Call Centres and Help Lines

Annual Report

Anti Fraud and Corruption Hotline :

Batho Pele Principles.pdf

Umzumbe Contact Numbers:

Telephone    : 039 972 0005

Fax Number : 039 972 0099


6 Amakhosi were sworn into the Umzumbe Municipality Council. The event took place at Esihlonyaneni Community Hall. Amakhosi were identified by the MEC for Corporative Governance and Traditional Affairs (COGTA), Ms Nomusa Dube-Ncube to form part of Umzumbe’s Executive Committee. The process of identifying Amakhosi is as per the Municipal Structures Act, which allows the MEC for COGTA to identify Amakhosi to serve in Municipal Councils.

There has been a workshop coordinated by Ugu District Municipality between Amakhosi and Councillors facilitated by representatives from COGCTA and South African Local Government Association (SALGA) that clarifies roles and responsibilities of Amakhosi. Below is a list of all Amakhosi who were sworn in:

NAME OF TRATIONAL LEADER                                       TRADITIONAL COMMUNITY

Inkosi Robert Sfiso Shinga                                               KwaNdelu

Inkosi Bathebuya Cele                                                      KwaCele P

Inkosi Nelisiwe Winfrieda Mbhele                             EMabheleni

Inkosi Zalani Raymond Qwabe                                      KwaQwabe P

Inkosi Sandile Cedric Gumede                                      KwaQwabe N

Inkosi Zibuyile Eunice Ngcobo                                      Nyavini


Inkosi Sandile Cedric Gumede (KwaQwabe N); Inkosi Robert Sfiso Shinga (KwaNdelu); Cllr Sizwe Ngcobo, Speaker; Inkosi Zibuyile Eunice Ngcobo (Nyavini); Inkosi Zalani Raymond Qwabe (KwaQwabe P); Inkosi Nelisiwe Winfrieda Mbhele (EMabheleni) and Inkosi Bathebuya Cele (KwaCele P)